Miami Dade College Homepage > MDC in the News

Miami Dade College Wolfson Campus Celebrates Women’s History Month with Special Events

Women`s History Month

Miami, March 7, 2014 - Miami Dade College’s(MDC) Wolfson Campus will present a series of events throughout March celebrating and honoring Women’s History Month. The events are free and open to the community, and will take place at 300 NE Second Avenue, in downtown Miami.

The campus will celebrate the contributions of women and their accomplishments, and pay tribute to their impact through dozens of performances including film, dance, discussions, and displays this month throughout MDC.   

Below are some highlights:

Wednesday, March 19

Gaia! Honoring Mother Earth

Join our student leaders during an afternoon of activities educating the human race on the impact we have had on mother earth, where we stand today. The event includes an historical perspective on influential ladies that impacted the planet.

11 a.m. – noon

Student Life Breezeway, Building 2

Contact: Gaby Narvaez, gnarvaez@mdc.edu

 

Tuesday, March 25

Meet Prof. Carme Chacón – Professor in Residence, and Former Minister of Defense, Spain

Take this unique opportunity to listen and learn from an influential woman in a leadership position, through a special lecture hosted by the Interdisciplinary Studies Seminar. Prof. Chacon will share her experience as a former Minister of Defense and a prominent leader.

9:50 - 11:05 a.m.

Room 7128

Contact: Jocelyne Legrand, jlegrand@mdc.edu

To view a complete list of Women’s History Months events at MDC, visit http://www.bluetoad.com/publication/?i=199152

Media-only contacts:
Juan Mendieta, 305-237-7611, jmendiet@mdc.edu, MDC communications director
Tere Estorino Florin, 305-237-3949, testorin@mdc.edu, MDC media relations director
Roxana Romero, 305-237-3366, rromero3@mdc.edu, media specialist
Sue Arrowsmith, 305-237-3710, sue.arrowsmith@mdc.edu, media specialist
Kai Hill, 305-237-3359, khill1@mdc.edu, media specialist
Alejandro Rios, 305-237-7482, arios1@mdc.edu




Miami Dade College is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges to award associate and baccalaureate degrees.
Contact the Commission on Colleges at 1866 Southern Lane, Decatur, Georgia 30033-4097 or call 404-679-4500 for questions about the accreditation of Miami Dade College.
Miami Dade College is an equal access/equal opportunity institution and does not discriminate on the basis of gender, race, color, marital status, age, religion, national origin,
disability, veteran’s status, sexual orientation, or genetic information. Contact the Office of Equal Opportunity Programs/ADA Coordinator, at 305.237.2577 for information.