Group photo of volleyball team

2015 Season

The Miami Dade College women’s volleyball team are currently 7-9, and 2-1 in conference play. The Lady Sharks have 3 returning players who will be relied upon heavy to help keep the standard of winning championships going here at Miami Dade, they are Kelsey Taylor, Yorgelys Jaspe, and Thalia Torres. Last season the Lady Sharks finished the season as state champs and national runner-ups. The Lady Sharks added to their collection of championships receiving their 42nd last season. Miami Dade College finished the season 30-4, 8-0 in conference. In addition, several players were recognized and received all-state, all-conference, and all- tournament honors. Players Silvia Galeano, Merrisa Murphy, Kathryn Hogan, Carelis Rojas, Adriana Pena, and Erini Chatziefstradiadou received honors such as 1st team all-conference, 1st team all- state, all-tournament team of nationals, player of the conference, MVP of the state tournament, and 2nd team all- conference. Head Coaches Origenes Benoit was named the 2014 FCSAA State Coach of the Year.