Kendall Campus

Group of Students at Kennedy Space Center

About Physical Sciences at MDC Kendall Campus

Welcome to the Department of Physical Sciences at Kendall Campus. We offer over three dozen different lecture and laboratory courses for both science and non-science students. Our classes include Astronomy, Chemistry, Earth Science, Meteorology, Oceanography, Physics, and Physical Science.

Resources

calculator and math tools

Math/Science Study Center

The Math/Science Study Center offers tutoring in Mathematics (except College Prep), Chemistry, Physics, and Biology/Earth Science courses. No appointment is needed, students are helped on a first-come first-served basis.

chemistry tubes

Physical Science Resources

The Chemistry department is located in Building 3, Room 3291.

Tutoring information

mineral rock

Earth Science Museum

Explore an extensive collection of rocks and minerals from around the world, South Florida archaeological artifacts, meteorological stations, maps and oceanographic displays, and more. Demonstrations and seminars provided upon request. Located in room 3151-3167. 

Faculty and Staff

Staff

NamePositionPhoneRoomEmail
Dr. Philip E. Patterson Department
Chairperson
305-237-2609 3293 ppatters@mdc.edu
Ms. Jocelyn Martinez Laboratory
Manager
305-237-2770 3105 jmartin6@mdc.edu
Mr. Gabriel Hernandez Assistant to the Chair 305-237-2833 3294 ghernan5@mdc.edu
Ms. Teresa Borrego Secretary 305-237-2545 3292 tborreg1@mdc.edu
Ms. Malena Illas PT Clerk 305-237-2492 3291 millas@mdc.edu

Full Time Faculty

NamePositionPhoneRoomEmail

José Calavia

Physics 305-237-2761 3291 jcalvia@mdc.edu
Dr. Julia Diaz-Consul Chemistry 305-237-2590 3291 jdiazcon@mdc.edu
Dr. Dionne Gil Chemistry 305-237-2147   dgil@mdc.edu
Dr. Marta E. Goicoechea-Pappas Chemistry  305-237-0848 3291 mgoicoec@mdc.edu
Dr. Georgina Hart Chemistry 305-237-0848 3291 ghart@mdc.edu
Javiera Hernandez Chemistry 305-237-0848 3291-02 jherna37@mdc.edu
Joan Lee Chemistry  305-237-2995 3291 jlee3@mdc.edu
Lawrence Mailloux Chemistry 305-237-2492 3291 lmaillou@mdc.edu
Dr. Michael McGauley Physics and
Earth Sciences
305-237-2687 3291 mmcgaule@mdc.edu
Dr. Servando Muñoz Chemistry 305-237-0849 3291 smunoz@mdc.edu
Dr. José Orta Astronomy and
Physics
305-237-2588 3291 jorta@mdc.edu
Dr. Soumia Souchak Physics 305-237-2763 3291  ssouchak@mdc.edu
Flavia Wald Physics 305-237-2763 3291-08  fwald@mdc.edu

Adjunct Faculty

NamePositionPhoneRoomEmail
Armando Acha Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2591 3291  aacha@mdc.edu
Ximena Barrietos Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  xbarrie1@mdc.edu
Isabelle Camille Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  icamille@mdc.edu
Jorge Casal Mirones Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  jcasalsm@mdc.edu
Ana Ciereszko Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  acieresz@mdc.edu
Carlos Fernandez Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  cfernan9@mdc.edu
Victor Fernandez Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  vfernan6@mdc.edu
Ariana Garcia-Minsal Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2763 3291  agarciam@mdc.edu
Urooj Khan Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  ukhan@mdc.edu
Jose Lagomasino Carreras Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  jlagoma1@mdc.edu
Reinaldo Lopez Planes Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  Rlopez2@mdc.edu
Jorge Morales Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  Jmoral7@mdc.edu
Ozlem Orhun Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  oorhun@mdc.edu
Miguel Otero Rambla Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  moterora@mdc.edu
Jorge Caraballo Pacheco Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  jpacheco@mdc.edu
Lazaro Pino Rivero Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  lpinoriv@mdc.edu
Aldo Ramirez Duveger Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  aramire7@mdc.edu
Francisco Marcos Reguera Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  freguera@mdc.edu
Tania Sureda Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  tsureda@mdc.edu
Dania Trista Aguilera Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  dtristaa@mdc.edu
Paul Wieser Adjunct Faculty 305-237-2492 3291  pwieser@mdc.edu