Kendall Campus

About Social Sciences and Criminal Justice at MDC Kendall

In its broadest definition, social science is a branch of science that studies human behavior, human societies, and social relationships. The field encompasses a wide range of disciplines and subject matters, including politics, law, history, psychology, and sociology.

The department of Social Sciences and Criminal Justice at Kendall campus offers the Associate in Arts (A.A.) degree with a pathway to Anthropology, Criminal Justice Administration, History, International Relations, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration, Social Work, and Sociology. Courses for these programs are offered every semester, as well as Student Life Skills (SLS) courses that are designed to help students succeed in college. Classes vary from traditional face-to-face format to blended (half face-to-face, half online).

Some of the classes required for MDC's Addiction Studies C.C. Certificate and the A.S. degrees in Criminal Justice Technology-Generic, Crime Scene Technology-Crime Scene Investigation, and Paralegal Studies are also available at Kendall campus. 

The Social Sciences department at Kendall campus can be found in room 6206, which is located in Building 6 on the second floor.

Student Associations and Clubs

Several students pose for a picture from the Psychology Student Association

Psychology Student Association

The Psychology Student Organization (PSA) is a student driven, academic organization intended to expose students to the field of psychology and psychology related topics.

Collage of black and white photographs showing work that the Psi Beta Honor Society has done

Psi Beta Honor Society

Psi Beta is a national honor society in psychology for community colleges. The mission of Psi Beta is professional development of psychology students through promotion and recognition of excellence in scholarship, leadership, research, and community service.

Four women standing together for the Criminal Justice Club

Criminal Justice Club

This club promotes awareness and interest in the many Criminal Justice fields that are available to students. It is open to all MDC students, regardless of their major.

Academic Programs

Cave drawingsAnthropology
Associate in Arts

A judge's gavel with the American flag in the backgroundCriminal Justice
Associate in Arts

battle sceneHistory
Associate in Arts

row of international flagsInternational Relations
Associate in Arts

young politician at government meetingPolitical Science
Associate in Arts

Statue of blind justice statue on a deskPre-Law
Associate in Arts

therapist giving advicePsychology
Associate in Arts

public administrators talking outside government buildingPublic Administration
Associate in Arts

Female counselor sits at a tableSocial Work
Associate in Arts

Silhouette of people holding handsSociology
Associate in Arts

Faculty and Staff

NamePositionPhone NumberRoom NumberEmail
Mercy Arias Department Chairperson 305-237-2215 6206 marias5@mdc.edu
Nadia Rimarachin Assistant to the Department Chairperson 305-237-2215 6206 nrimarac@mdc.edu
Catherine Lederman Secretary 305-237-2180 6206 clederma@mdc.edu
Olivia Olmeda Student Assistant 305-237-2215 6206 oolmedo@mdc.edu
Mary Grillo Instructional Assistant/Academic Advisor 305-237-2215 6206 mgrillo@mdc.edu
Luisa Leon SLS Specialist/Academic Advisor 305-237-2793 6206 lleon@mdc.edu
Yaneivis Gonzalez SLS Specialist/Academic Advisor 305-237-2215 6206 ygonza11@mdc.edu
Gloria Rolong SLS Specialist/Academic Advisor 305-237-2215 6206 grolong@mdc.edu
Elizabeth Buchholz Associate Professor, Sr., Criminal Justice 305-237-2605 6206-8 ebuchhol@mdc.edu
Melissa Buehler Associate Professor, Sr., Political Science/International Relations 305-237-2667 6206-24 mbuehler@mdc.edu
Rodolfo Buigas Assistant Professor, Psychology 305-237-2447 6206-2 rbuigas@mdc.edu
Sandra Castillo Professor, History 305-237-2696 6206-12 scastill@mdc.edu
Kimberly Coffman Professor, Psychology 305-237-2127 6206-19 kcoffman@mdc.edu
Vellisse Grimes Associate Professor, Sr., Psychology/SLS 305-237-0756 6206-15 vgrimes@mdc.edu
Emilia Goodfriend Assistant Professor, Psychology 305-237-0711 6206-23 egoodfri@mdc.edu
Jose Guntin Associate Professor, Sr., Psychology 305-237-2668 6206-3 jguntin@mdc.edu
Suzanne Mignone Professor, Psychology 305-237-0637 6206-26 smignone@mdc.edu
Yuly Pomares Professor, Psychology 305-237-2433 6206-28 ypomares@mdc.edu
Krystal Ribot Assistant Professor, Psychology/SLS 305-237-2682 6206-9 kribot@mdc.edu
Mildred Roqueta Professor, Psychology 305-237-2379 6206-1 mroqueta@mdc.edu
Shawn Schwaner Associate Professor, Sr., Criminal Justice 305-237-2478 6206-10 sschwane@mdc.edu
David Shaheen Professor, History 305-237-2289 6206-16 dshaheen@mdc.edu
Leah Sheaf Associate Professor, Sr., Criminal Justice 305-237-2228 6206-13 lsheaf@mdc.edu
Victor Vazquez-Hernandez Professor, History 305-237-2443 6206-20 vvazquez@mdc.edu
Stuart Williams Associate Professor Sr., Sociology 305-237-2834 6206-27 swillia3@mdc.edu