Academics

Explore Over 300 Programs of Study at Miami Dade College

May

May 15, 2017 (Monday) Registration begins, Fall Term

August

August 5 (Saturday) Student Services offices open on Saturday from 8:00 am to 12:00 pm
August 12 (Saturday) Student Services offices open on Saturday from 8:00 am to 12:00 pm
August 19 (Saturday) Student Services offices open on Saturday from 8:00 am to 12:00 pm
August 26 (Saturday) Student Services offices open on Saturday from 8:00 am to 12:00 pm
August 28 (Monday) Classes begin: 16 week, 8 week mini-term: Registration only with instructor and /or departmental approval.
August 31 (Thursday) 8 week mini-term. Last day to drop with refund; change courses without financial penalty; register, add a course or change sections with instructor and/or department approval; change from audit status to credit status or from credit status to audit status.

September

September 1 (Friday)

16-week classes. Last day to drop with refund; change courses without financial penalty; register, add a course or change sections with instructor and/or department approval; change from audit status to credit status or from credit status to audit status.

September 2-4 (Saturday-Monday)  Holiday – Labor Day
September 8  (Friday) Weekend classes begin.
September 9 (Saturday)

Student Services offices open on Saturday from 8:00 am to 12:00 pm

September 11 (Monday)

Weekend classes: Last day to drop with refund; change courses without financial penalty; register, add a course or change sections with instructor and/or department approval; change from audit status to credit status or from credit status to audit status.

September 29 (Friday)

8-week mini-term. Last day to withdraw from courses with a “W” grade; register for institutional credit-by-exam.

October

October 2 (Monday) 12-week mini-term begins: Registration only with instructor and/or departmental approval.
October 5 (Thursday)

12-week mini-term: Last day to drop with refund; change courses without financial penalty; register, add a course or change sections with instructor and/or department approval; change from audit status to credit status or from credit status to audit status.

October 23 (Monday)

Priority registration begins

October 25 (Wednesday)

Open registration begins

8-week mini-term begins: Registration only with instructor and/or departmental approval.

October 27 (Friday)

Weekend classes: Last day to withdraw from courses with a “W” grade; register for institutional credit-by-exam.

October 30 (Monday) 8-week min term: Last day to drop with refund; change courses without financial penalty; register, add a course or change sections with instructor and/or department approval; change from audit status to credit status or from credit status to audit status.

November

November 7 (Tuesday)

16 week classes: Last day withdraw from courses with a “W” grade; register for institutional credit-by-exam. 

November 10-12 (Friday- Sunday) Holiday – Veterans Day
November 14 (Tuesday) 12-week mini-term: Last day to withdraw from courses with a “W” grade; register for institutional credit-by-exam. 
November 23-26 (Thursday-Sunday) Holiday – Thanksgiving
November 27 (Monday)

8-week mini-term: Last day to withdraw from courses with a “W” grade; register for institutional credit-by-exam. 

December

December 15 (Friday)          Last day of classes.
December 18-22 (Monday-Friday) Final exams: regular weekday and evening classes.
December 23 (Saturday)

Student Services offices open on Saturday from 8:00 am to 12:00 pm.

December 24- January 3

The College will be closed for winter recess. The College will be open on 1/4/2018 from 8:00 am to 7:00 pm and 1/5/2018 from 8:00 am to 4:30 pm.

Dec. 26 (Tuesday) View final course grades

January

Jan. 6 (Saturday) Student Services offices open on Saturday from 8:00 am to 12:00 pm.
Jan. 9 (Tuesday) Classes begin: 16-week, 8 week mini-term: Registration only with instructor and/or departmental approval.
Jan. 12 (Friday) 8-week mini-term. Last day to drop with refund; change courses without financial penalty; register, add a course or change sections with instructor and/or department approval; change from audit status to credit status or from credit status to audit status.
Jan. 13-15 Holiday - Martin Luther King Day
Jan. 16 (Tuesday) 16-week classes. Last day to drop with refund; change courses without financial penalty; register, add a course or change sections with instructor and/or department approval; change from audit status to credit status or from credit status to audit status.
Jan. 20 (Saturday) Weekend classes begin.

February

Feb. 9 (Friday) 8-week mini-term. Last day to withdraw from courses with a “W” grade; register for institutional credit-by-exam.
Feb. 12 (Monday) 12-week mini-term begins: Registration only with instructor and/or departmental approval.
Feb. 15 (Thursday) 12-week mini-term: Last day to drop with refund; change courses without financial penalty; register, add a course or change sections with instructor and/or department approval; change from audit status to credit status or from credit status to audit status.
Feb. 17-19 Holiday - President’s Day

March

Mar. 1 (Thursday) Employee Retreat. There will be no classes even though the college will be open.
Mar. 5 (Monday) Summer Priority Registration begins, log in to your MYMDC account (https://my.mdc.edu/) to register. Classes begin 8 week second mini-term: Registration only with instructor and/or departmental approval.
Mar. 7 (Wednesday) 8-week second mini-term begins. Registration only with instructor and/or departmental approval.
Mar. 13 (Tuesday) 8 week second mini-term. Last day to drop with refund; change courses without financial penalty; register, add a course or change sections with instructor and/or department approval; change from audit status to credit status or from credit status to audit status.
Mar. 21 (Wednesday) 16 week classes: Last day withdraw from courses with a “W” grade; register for institutional credit-by-exam. 
Mar. 26 (Monday) Last day to apply for graduation so that name appears in commencement program.
Mar. 30 – Apr. 1 (Friday – Sunday) Holiday – Spring Recess

April

Apr. 5 (Thursday) 12-week mini-term: Last day to withdraw from courses with a “W” grade; register for institutional credit-by-exam. 
Apr. 10 (Tuesday) 8-week second mini term: Last day to withdraw from courses with a “W” grade; register for institutional credit-by-exam. 
Apr. 27 (Friday)          Last day of classes.
Apr. 28 – May 4 (Saturday-Friday) Final exams: regular weekday and evening classes.

May

May 5 (Saturday) Commencement Ceremony
May 7 (Monday) View final course grades

May

May. 14 (Monday) Classes begin: 12-week, 6-week mini-term: Registration only with instructor and/or departmental approval.
May. 17 (Thursday) 12-week classes. Last day to drop with refund; change courses without financial penalty; register, add a course or change sections with instructor and/or department approval; change from audit status to credit status or from credit status to audit status.
May. 19 (Saturday) Weekend classes begin.
May 26-28(Saturday-Monday) Holiday - Memorial Day

June

June. 7 (Thursday) First 6-week mini-term. Last day withdraw from courses with a “W” grade; register for institutional credit-by-exam.
Jun. 25 (Monday) 6-week second mini-term begins. Registration only with instructor and/or departmental approval.
Jun. 27 (Thursday) 6 week second mini-term. Last day to drop with refund; change courses without financial penalty; register, add a course or change sections with instructor and/or department approval; change from audit status to credit status or from credit status to audit status.

July

Jul. 3 (Tuesday) 12 week classes: Last day withdraw from courses with a “W” grade; register for institutional credit-by-exam
Jul. 4 (Wednesday) Holiday - Independence Day
Jul. 19 (Thursday) 6-week mini-term. Last day to withdraw from courses with a “W” grade; register for institutional credit-by-exam.
Jul. 27 (Friday) Last day of classes.
Jul. 28 – Aug. 3 (Saturday-Friday) Final exams: regular weekday and evening classes.
August
Aug. 6 (Monday)   View final course grades