The Basic Corrections Academy is 420 contact hours. On graduation and passing of the State Officer Certification Examination,
you are considered a certified correctional officer.
||Approximately 3 months
||Monday – Friday, 8:00am to 5:00pm. Firearms training will be from 2:00pm to 11:00pm
Applicants for a basic corrections training program must:
- Be at least 18 years of age
- Be a United States citizen
- Have a high school diploma or equivalent.
- Be of good moral character as defined by 11B-27.0011 of the Florida Administrative Code.
- Have not been convicted of any felony including a “withholding of adjudication” nor convicted of a misdemeanor involving perjury or false statement. Any and all arrests will be reviewed by the School of Justice.
- Submit to a physical examination, including screening for illegal substances by a licensed physician
- Have a valid Florida Driver’s License
- Submit to a criminal history verification.
- Have not received a dishonorable discharge from any of the Armed Forces of the United States.